Gentle Parenting · motherhood

Motherhood in the Morning: Setting Intentions

Let’s start here: Motherhood is hard. Like, really, really hard. But then again, it can be ever-so simple at the same time. There are many days where I wake up and have no idea where to start, no idea how to approach the day as a successful mother, let alone of what I’m going to wear. I know that I’m not alone in this – if you’re here reading a motherhood blog, then you’ve likely felt the same way at some point…or on a daily basis, like moi. I have good news for you though – I have a simple trick that can make your mornings a little less stressful. Though not a magical save-all for those days when you just “can’t even,” this trick can at least give you peace of mind.

 

Here it is: Set an intention for your day, every morning.

 img_4145

As a mother of 2 now, it has become increasingly important for me to take a moment each morning to set an intention for our day (especially those days that we have to leave the house, am I right?). Right now, with the craziness of having a newborn in the house again, my intentions are really and truly limited to:

 

  • I intend to keep everyone alive.
  • I intend to get out of the house on time or at least no more than 10 minutes later than on time.
  • I intend to breathe.

img_4146

Before Bud joined our clan, my intentions were much different:

 

  • I intend to think before reacting negatively.
  • I intend to choose my battles.
  • I intend to encourage selfless generosity in my daughter.
  • I intend to bring a smile to my sweet girl’s face.
  • I intend to breathe.

 

(Remembering to breathe is always one of my intentions. Keep an eye out for another post about how the breath is central to our gentle parenting techniques.)

Setting a daily intention helps center my mind and keeps me focused on my goals for the day ahead. I’ve found that even if the day is not going in the best direction, I am better able to handle preschooler fits and ceaselessly barking dogs and constipated babies with more grace than I would otherwise. Having a daily goal, as simple as one of the intentions above, makes me feel like I accomplished something, even if that something was remaining calm enough throughout the morning to get both kids down for a nap at the same time so I can binge-watch The Vampire Diaries on Netflix (guilty pleasure, anyone? anyone? I’m the only one into teen vampire dramas? Oh, ok.).

img_4147

Do you set intentions for your day? I’d love to hear your go-to intentions, leave a comment below!

{Remember to subscribe to the SweetPea & Bud blog for updates}

Leave a Reply

